Music of the Twentieth-Century Avant-Garde
A Biocritical Sourcebook
by Larry Sitsky
December 2002, 680pp, 6 1/8 x 9 1/4
1 volume, Greenwood

Hardcover: 978-0-313-29689-5
$116, £90, 101€, A159
eBook Available: 978-0-313-01723-0
Please contact your preferred eBook vendor for pricing.

Guides the reader or researcher, in language suitable for the layperson, through the history and musicianship of the avant-garde composers of the 20th century.

Presenting a view of the 20th-century music avant-garde without resorting to highly specialized jargon, this work offers an exhaustive history and analysis of contemporary music in a social, political, and artistic context. Distinguished contributors from around the world consider specific composers who represent the most progressive musical thinking of their time and place. Editor Larry Sitsky, an eminent Australian composer and teacher, has assembled an accessible, unique, and clearly written collection.

Also exploring the links among this diverse group of composers, the guide offers a cross-index of names that will help the researcher formulate a cohesive view of the 20th-century avant-garde. A bibliography and list of selected works round out the volume, which succeeds in demystifying an area that, until now, has been the exclusive province only of the specialist.

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.
Accept All Cookies | Decline.