9/11 and the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq
A Chronology and Reference Guide
by Tom Lansford
November 2011, 348pp, 7 x 10
1 volume, ABC-CLIO

Hardcover: 978-1-59884-419-1
$108, £84, 94€, A148
Please contact your preferred distributor for pricing.
eBook Available: 978-1-59884-420-7
Please contact your preferred eBook vendor for pricing.

The events of September 11, 2001, did more than set off the war on terror. Passionate support for—and opposition to—military intervention abroad, soaring budget deficits, expansion of domestic surveillance and policing, renewed debate regarding a military draft, and shifts in attitudes regarding immigration are just a few of the changes in American culture after the terrorist attacks.

This book analyzes the complex causes and effects of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks both domestically and internationally, and examines the subsequent wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

The first decade of the 21st century witnessed a watershed of political, economic, diplomatic, and military change as a direct result of the events of September 11, 2001. Through narrative chapters, a chronology of events, biographical sketches of principal players, and annotated primary documents, author Tom Lansford documents the domestic impact of the terrorist attacks that stunned the world as well as the subsequent “war on terror” and the invasions and occupations of Afghanistan and Iraq.

9/11 and the Wars in Afghanistan and Iraq: A Chronology and Reference Guide explores the origins and aftermath of the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks in both the domestic and international contexts. It addresses the rise of global terrorism and the concurrent histories of Afghanistan, Iraq, and the broader Middle East, as well as the interaction of the United States with the region. Events, trends, groups, and individual players are examined as part of the broader historical context, allowing readers to see the connections between these various elements.


  • Provides insightful quotes from contemporary figures and primary documents ranging from Osama bin Laden's 1998 fatwa against the United States to the 2006 Iraq Study Group Report
  • Contains 12 biographies ranging from Osama bin Laden to George W. Bush that provide detailed background on important figures from the era
  • Presents a chronology of events from the 1970s to the present day, including occurrences leading to the September 11, 2001, attacks and the Iraq War
  • Includes a select bibliography of major works on the September 11, 2001, attacks; the war in Iraq; homeland security; and the war on terror
  • Contains a detailed glossary of key terms such as "Shiite" and "weapons of mass destruction"
Tom Lansford is academic dean and professor of political science at the University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Coast, Long Beach, MS. His published works include A Bitter Harvest: US Foreign Policy and Afghanistan; Theodore Roosevelt: A Political Life; and To Protect and Defend: US Homeland Security Policy.


"The volume’s strength is its tying together of various events, discussed in essays that are presented in chronological order. . . . In general, this is a fine companion to Spencer C. Tucker’s more general Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars (ABC-CLIO, 2010). . . . Appropriate for high school, academic, and public library reference and circulating collections."—Library Journal, February 1, 2012

"The narrative is longer and more in-depth than those found in most reference works. It is also reasonably objective and unbiased—very important for such a controversial subject."—Choice, June 1, 2012
By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts.
Accept All Cookies | Decline.